News

08.10.21
Investors, Awards, Events
1 min read
E-Mail Facebook Twitter

mediaire wins international MICCAI-challenge on MS lesion segmentation

In this prestigious challenge 24 teams from all over the world submitted their algorithms and pipelines to find out who can detect new MS lesions best. mediaire’s pipelines made it to the top (rank 1 & 3)!

mediaire wins international MICCAI-challenge on MS lesion segmentation

Longitudinal lesion segmentation in Multiple Sclerosis is a very challenging task and often there is not even consensus among expert neuroradiologists whether or not “a white spot” should be counted as a new lesion. 24 teams from 4 continents accepted this challenge and submitted their best algorithms and pipelines. The ground truth was derived from consensus reading of 4 expert neuroradiologists. The performance of the  the AI-tools was compared against this ground truth using F1- & DICE-Score as metrics – see example:

In the end mediaire’s approach achieved the best results in terms of lesion detection (F1-Score) and ranked #1 and #3, respectively, while outperforming teams from Siemens, NVIDIA, several well known academic teams and an expert neuroradiologist. However, as neuroradiologists have been involved in generating the ground truth there certainly was a bias in favour of the human rater here…

The full results can be accessed here: MICCAI 2021 New lesion segmentation challenge – Details

The technology used in this challenge is partially available in our commercial product mdbrain already where it is regularly improved based on new data and feedback from our customers.

News

08.10.21
Investoren, Presse, Preise
2 min read
E-Mail Facebook Twitter

mediaire gewinnt internationalen MICCAI-Wettbewerb zur Segmentierung von MS-Läsionen

24 Teams aus der ganzen Welt reichten ihre Algorithmen und Pipelines ein, um die beste Methode für die Detektion neuer MS-Läsionen zu küren. Die Pipelines von mediaire schafften es an die Spitze und belegten Platz 1 & 3!

mediaire gewinnt internationalen MICCAI-Wettbewerb zur Segmentierung von MS-Läsionen

Die Segmentierung von Läsionen bei Multipler Sklerose im Zeitverlauf ist eine sehr schwierige Aufgabe, und oft herrscht nicht einmal unter Neuroradiologen Einigkeit darüber, ob ein “weißer Fleck” im MRT als neue Läsion gewertet werden sollte oder nicht. 24 Teams aus 4 Kontinenten haben diese Herausforderung angenommen und ihre besten KI-Algorithmen und Pipelines eingereicht. Die Grundwahrheit wurde aus der Konsensbewertung von 4 Neuroradiologen abgeleitet. Die Leistung der KI-Tools wurde mit dieser Grundwahrheit verglichen, wobei F1- und DICE-Score als Metriken verwendet wurden – siehe Beispiel:

Am Ende erzielte der Ansatz von mediaire die besten Ergebnisse in Bezug auf die Läsionserkennung (F1-Score) und belegte Platz 1 bzw. 3, während er die Teams von Siemens, NVIDIA, mehrere bekannte akademische Teams und einen Neuroradiologen z.T deutlich übertraf. Da jedoch selbige Neuroradiologen an der Erstellung der Annotationen für die Challenge beteiligt waren, gab es hier sicherlich eine Verzerrung zugunsten der menschlichen Rater …

Die vollständigen Ergebnisse können hier eingesehen werden: MICCAI 2021 Wettbewerb zur Segmentierung neuer Läsionen – Details

Die in diesem Wettbewerb verwendete Technologie ist teilweise bereits in unserem kommerziellen Produkt mdbrain verfügbar, wo sie regelmäßig auf der Grundlage neuer Daten und des Feedbacks unserer Kunden verbessert wird.